Rosemary Italian Bread

breadThere is nothing better than fresh herbs.  They make your garden look great, they smell great, and it goes without saying they’re great in cooking.  My husband recently IMG_9410came home with an amazing rosemary plant to add to our herb collection.  We have not had a rosemary plant before so I had to do a little research because I wasn’t entirely sure how to care for the plant.   I would like to share some of the interesting takeaways from my research.

  • Rosemary is known as the symbol of remembrance and friendship or another meaning I came across we “dew of the sea”.
  • The plant likes full sun and a well-drained bed.
  • It has it’s best flavor during late summer, and Better Home and Gardens suggested throwing a few stems onto your grilling coals to infuse meat with the flavor.  What a smart idea!
  • The flowers on the plant are edible.
  • The plant can grow 3 to 5 feet tall.

I don’t really use rosemary in my cooking too much so I thought I would start out small by adding it to homemade bread.  Below is my simple go to bread recipe but with rosemary added into the dough, and then again sprinkled on top before cooking.  You will also notice that I use coconut oil instead of olive oil or shortening in my bread.  I do love my coconut oil!  Check out my banana muffin recipe made with coconut oil.

The bread turned out great.  We enjoyed the bread with my recent recipe post Tomato Basil Chicken.

Ingredients:

1 package (1/4 oz.) active dry yeastbread

1 Tbsp. sugar

1 1/2 cups warm water (100 to 110 F), divided

2 Tbsp. olive or coconut oil (melted)

1 1/2 tsp. salt

4 to 5 cups all-purpose flour

1 sprig of fresh rosemary (optional)

Directions:

Combine yeast, sugar and 1/2 cup of warm water in the bowl of a stand mixer.  Let the mixture stand for 5 to 10 minutes.  Add the melted coconut oil (or olive oil), salt, 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh rosemary, remaining water and 2 cups flour.  Using a dough hook, beat until smooth, and stir in remaining 2 to 3 cups flour to form a stiff dough.

Increase the speed to medium, and beat 5 minutes.  Then turn onto a floured surface and knead for 5 to 10 minutes until the dough is smooth and elastic.  Place dough into a greased bowl, turning once to grease the top.  Cover the bread with a damp towel and let rise in a warm place until double, about 1 hour.   I like to put my bowl in my oven with the oven light turned on.

After the dough has doubled in bulk punch it down.  Turn onto a lightly floured surface shape into a loaf.  Place the loaf onto a greased baking sheet, and make a few shallow diagonal cuts across the top of the loaf.  Sprinkle with another tablespoon of chopped fresh rosemary.  Place the bread back into the oven with the oven light on and let rise one more hour.

Bake at 350 for 35 to 40 minutes or until golden brown.

**Note: You will notice in my pictures there isn’t any rosemary in the dough or on the dough until the very end, this is because the pictures were from a different date when I was not using rosemary.

Check out some fellow bloggers at this great Link Party.

 

 

Websites Used:

http://www.bhg.com/gardening/plant-dictionary/herb/rosemary/

http://www.garden.org/foodguide/browse/herb/perennial/184

Leave a Reply

