Streusel Topped Banana Muffins using Coconut Oil

I’ve jumped on the coconut oil bandwagon.  I do realize I’m coming into this a year or two late, but nevertheless I’m here now.  I really like coconut oil and I’m trying to find ways to use it in everything.  If you’re coming into this late like I am, coconut oil is supposed to have  amazing health benefits (but really I’m just a sucker for the subtle tropical taste!).  Although coconut oil is a fat, it’s a healthy fat and one that can help increase metabolism by working in conjunction with our thyroid and blood-sugar.  Since coconut oil is a “healthy fat” it’s been shown to help the efficiency of the liver when burning energy.  These health properties are a little more medically driven than I want to get into, but I encourage you to do some research if you’re interested.  I do know from experience that it is a great moisturizer.  I also tired it in lieu of aloe on my daughter’s sun burn and the redness was gone by the next day!

But my number one favorite way to use coconut oil is in baking.  I recently made Nutella filled granola bars, wow talk about amazing!  I tried it out in banana muffins this past weekend and what a success.  Coconut oil is typically a solid, but has a low melting point.  The coconut oil I use melts at 76 degrees.  It also withstands heat which makes it a great cooking option.  Coconut oil can be substituted for butter in a 1:1 ratio.

That’s my plug for coconut oil, now try out my Streusel Topped Banana Muffins.

IMG_8428

Streusal Topped Banana Muffins with Coconut OilIMG_8430

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

3 bananas mashed

3/4 cup sugar (sometimes I mix white and brown sugar for banana muffins)

1 egg

1/3 cup coconut oil, melted

For the streusel topping:

1/3 cup brown sugar

2 Tbsp. flour

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1 Tbsp. butterIMG_8432

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 F.  Lightly grease 12 muffin cups.  Melt coconut oil in an oven safe dish in the oven for three to five minutes while the oven is heating up.  [Remember coconut oil has a low melting point so it will not take much heat to melt the oil.  You can probably put it in the microwave to melt, but we no longer have a microwave so I can’t suggest how long you need to heat the oil.]

In a large bowl mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon) and set aside.  With a potato masher or a food processor [I prefer the food processor] mash your bananas to a preferred consistency.  In another large bowl mix the mashed bananas, sugar, egg, and melted coconut oil until smooth.  Stir in the flour mixture until just moistened.   Spoon mixture into muffin cups a little over 2/3 of the way full.  [I like to fill my muffins over the 2/3 mark because then you can ensure they pop up over the rim of the muffin cup.  If you do this you probably will not make an even dozen of muffins.]

In a small bowl combine the brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon.  Cut in the butter until crumbly in texture.  Sprinkle the streusel topping evenly over the muffins.

Bake in a preheated oven for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

3 thoughts on “Streusel Topped Banana Muffins using Coconut Oil

  1. I have used coconut oil as a beauty product for years I am loving all the recipes that are now starting to incorporate it. This looks really good and I am excited to give it a try! Thanks for sharing. ~Blessings~

  2. Thank you for the nice comment! I’m really enjoying all of the recipes with coconut oil too. Last night I made bread subbing coconut oil for the shortening and it came out even better!

  3. Pingback: Rosemary Italian Bread | The Collie Ollie Life

Leave a Reply

