Chocolate & Butterscotch Chip Cream Cheese Bars

Image

I love cooking and Pinterest is my new favorite website.  I can sit for an hour skimming recipes on Pinterest and saving them on my various boards — “Recipes to Try”, “Total Keeper Recipes”, “In the Wee Hours of the Morning”, etc. For a home cook and mom of four kids it’s an excellent organization tool.

This recipe is my own creation, but it started out as a great Pinterest find.  I was to make Cranberry Bars for a Christmas Eve party.  I had already been to the grocery store the day before, my husband Christmas Eve morning, he had to go back out for cream cheese, and then I’m in the middle of making the “Cranberry Bars” only to realize I didn’t have butter.  I get back with the butter to realize I do not have white chocolate chip.  Really?!?  After four trips to the grocery store in a 24 hour period I threw my hands up and decided I would do what I could with what I had on hand.  And with that thought this recipe was born.  I think it’s a great recipe when trying to clean out your pantry!

Chocolate & Butterscotch Chip Cream Cheese Bars

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup quick or old-fashioned oats (Optional: You can always pulse in a food processor for smaller oat pieces).

1/4 cup packed light brown sugar

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

1 cup (half of a 12 oz. package) chocolate chips (semi-sweet or milk chocolate, the point is to use what you have on hand)

1 cup (half of a 12 oz. package) butterscotch chips

1/2 cup chopped toasted pecans (Optional)

1 pkg. (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened

1 can (14 oz.) Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease 13X9 baking dish.

Combine flour, oats, brown sugar, and butter in a large bowl.  Mix until crumbly.  I usually throw everything in the mixer and let it do the work.  Stir in the chips of your choice, and pecans (optional).  Reserve around 2 cups of oat mixture for topping.  Press the remaining oat mixture into prepared pan.

Beat cream cheese in large mixing bowl until creamy.  If you used the mixing bowl to make the oat mixture, there is no nee to wash the bowl or beater. Add sweetened condensed milk and vanilla.  Mix on medium speed until smooth.  Pour over the crust.  Sprinkle the reserved oat mixture over cream cheese.

Bake for 35 to 40 minutes.  Cool completely in pan, then cover and refrigerate until chilled through.  Cut into bars and serve.

IMG_7754

One thought on “Chocolate & Butterscotch Chip Cream Cheese Bars

Leave a Reply

