The Before and After Bathroom

Unfortunately, I’m not the best at remembering to take the “before” pictures until I’ve already started disassembling the area that I’m fixing up. Here are the few before pictures that I remembered to grab.  But envision a dull neutral bathroom full of beige, gray, and brown.  It was the most un-lively room I’ve ever seen.  We choose a light fresh green for the walls and went with Behr Ultra in Winter Fresh.

After the paint we decided to “transform” the cabinet vanity.  It really wasn’t that bad off but we knew we wanted to do our kitchen with the Rust-Oleum Cabinet Transformations so before we took the plunge on a room that we knew everyone would see we decided to experiment on the bathroom cabinet.  The cabinet was dull and had scratches, it deserved a change.  I knew I was going to have a ton of the base coat/paint leftover so I tried to find other things around the house I could paint.  I painted four frames that were going into the bathroom, and also my daughter’s art table.  You will see more of the art table below.  The art table was the item that had the biggest transformation.

There are four simple steps to Rustoleum’s Cabinet Transformation:

Step 1: Deglossing – In this step you use course sponges with a liquid sander and scrub down your cabinets.  This step is basically done in lieu of a heavy sanding.  After wiping up the deglosser then it sits for an hour before moving on to step 2.

Step 2: Base Coat – The base coat is the paint.  My bathroom cabinets needed two coats of the base coat.  The dry time between each coat is only 4 hours!  The base coat is definitely different than paint, it has a very dry and almost dusty feel to it after it dries.

Step 3: Decorative Glaze – This step is optional, this is basically what allows you to enhance the wood grain look to your project.  However, there are all types of finishes on the Rustoleum website (e.g. antiquing, dry brushing, etc.).  I wanted to go with the simple wood grain look for my bathroom cabinets.  This step was a lot of fun, you basically wipe on this glaze and then wipe it off again.  If you want more in one area, then you don’t wipe as much off, and if want less, then wipe more.  The glaze doesn’t dry as fast as the base coat so it was fun to have more time to alter the look.  After you have the decorative glaze the way you want it, it dries

Step 4: Top Coat – This is the protective coat.  Out of all the reviews I read online this step was supposed to be the trickiest  and I would have to agree. The top coat needs to be spread thin, and you want to make sure that you go back through and do small light strokes over areas that have too much, or have air bubbles.  If you are doing a darker color (this is considered a dark color according to Rustoleum) and there is too much of the top coat in one area it will dry whitish/yellow.

Below are some pictures of the before.  The second row of pictures are the cabinets and table with the base coat only.

Image

And now for the after.  Again, not that big of a transformation as I was staying with pretty much the same color wood, but wait until you see my kitchen cabinet transformation.  The kitchen cabinets were dark brown and now they are white!  I do love the kid’s art table because the “before” drove me crazy.

In sum, this was a great cheap fix for house that we rent.  I still am stuck with the old linoleum and the grey toilet and sink, but overall I’m happy.  The color is welcoming and bright, and the cabinets look new.  Everything comes in the kit, but I recommend having a box of latex gloves.  Stay tuned for the post on the kitchen cabinets.

Leave a Reply

